Out and About

I’ve just returned from a busy, and all-too-short trip to Australia for Games Day, as well as a couple of Q&A sessions at the Sydney bunker and signings at the Galaxy and Kinokuniya bookstores (signed books on their selves now if you couldn’t attend one of these events). Thanks are due to Mike and Mal from Black Library for being excellent travelling companions and I had a great time meeting fellow authors Henry Zou and Matthew Farrer. Special mention to my good friend Ant ‘Nosebag’ Reynolds, it was great to catch up.

Oz was just the start of a mad couple of months of events and signings, so for those across the globe here is my upcoming itinerary.

Next up is Games Day UK in Birmingham on the 23rd September. Games Workshop’s biggest event, Games Day is usually the most hectic day in my calendar. I can’t say for definite, but I expect there will be pre-release copies of The Sundering available, as well as awesome Path of the Outcast prints (I have to snag one of these to complete my trio).

The following weekend I will be down in Brighton for Fantasycon 2012. It will be my first Fantasycon and I’m looking forward to meeting up with a whole host of folks from the genre fiction world. I’ll be there with my Angry Robot pals, taking part in the packed schedule of signings, readings and panels.

For those on the other side of the Atlantic, the Chestermere Black Library Expo will provide an impressive line-up of authors to poke, prod and question. Taking part over the first weekend in October, the BL expo is going to be one of the hottest Black Library events outside the UK, so for those that can’t make BLLive! or the BLWeekender this might be your best chance to meet and talk to your favourite writers.

Speaking of which, this period continues with the Black Library weekender, taking place in Nottingham on the 3rd & 4th November. A brand new event, this promises to be even better than Black Library Live!, and that’s impressive indeed; exclusive chapbooks, new releases, some titles months ahead of hitting the shelves and more authors than you can shake a big stick at.

Finally, there’s an Angry Robot author event at Sheffield Central library on 17 November 2012. Along with the AR editors I’ll be with David Tallerman and Adam Christopher to talk about things F, SF and WTF.

Dennis and I hope to see you at one of these events, please come and say hello.

Published in: on September 13, 2012 at 10:36 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mechanicalhamster.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/out-and-about/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nosebag. Snigger.

    Like

  2. Received your signed books and they winging their way to a very grateful competition winner, thanks. I will be at Games Day this year so hopefully I can get you too sign a book :)

    Like

  3. It was a pleasure to meet you and the other Black Library authors at Games Day AU, and once again thankyou for signing my copy of the Last Chancers Omnibus.

    I didn’t get the chance to ask you about this as I must confess to being a little starstruck, but in the novel Kill Team, the scene with the Deathwatch Space Marine engaging several Tau battle-suits is one of the most epic scenes I’ve read. I was wondering if you had any particular Chapter of Space Marine in mind when you wrote him or you see all Space Marines being that way.

    Ave Imperator,

    Brendon.

    Like

    • Hi, thanks for coming along.

      Brother Dionis is an example of an experienced Deathwatch space marine, tooled-up for a specific foe (in this case the Tau). I wanted the scene to be a stark contrast to the woes of the kill team; a moment of glorious combat that shows why space marines are held in such awe and fear. There was no specific chapter I had in mind at the time, though the references to his prayer and the eagle scarring on his chest would suggest one of the more zealous chapters, perhaps a Black Templar…

      Like

  4. I understand you’re busy and jetting around, but I was kinda hoping for a word or two about Path of the Outcast and the Path trilogy in general. Very nice book, great trilogy, and a way of ending the battle that I never expected – well done. Hopefully you’ll one day expound on how you felt Outcasts lived, where the idea that an Eldar would live through the Kami came from, and so on. There’s much to learn about why you made some of the choices you did regarding not just the plot but the Eldar as a whole.

    Oh, did Andy Chambers and yourself have any cross-pollination of ideas within your respective Eldar novels?

    Like

    • Though Andy and I did not work on anything specific together – the stories are not linked – we have spent considerable time in the past talking about Eldar and I suppose both visit the same well of knowledge that we created while in Games Dev. I would expect to see more influence from Andy’s work in mine going forward, if I have the opportunity to involve Dark Eldar.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,587 other followers

